Heyoka Review from NEW ORLEANS, HEYOKA live tonight at Ruta Maya World Headquarters

Heyoka is playing a much anticipated show at Ruta Maya tonight more info http://rutamaya.net/ find out more about Heyoka on their Myspace

http://www.myspace.com/andreism

My friend in New Orleans saw them play this week. Check it out

On Thursday, April seventh I was able to catch the Octopus Nebula and Heyoka show at the hookah in New Orleans. First I just have to say this is the first time I have been to the hookah since they moved from Frenchman to Decatur Street. I must say it was a grand improvement just a really beautiful venue. So I get to the show at around 10:15 and there is a local act opening but unfortunately I was not able to catch there name. They where very entertaining especially the guy on electric sax, because that is just bad ass. There sound was pretty funky, with covers of jimmy Hendrix and 80s synth pop bands mixed in and with a healthy dose of Bisco randomly introduced. It was a good warm up for the ten people who where. Hour goes by and every one is just chilling and then I hear it.

At this time there is about 25 people in the dance area when octopus nebula came on. It was wonderful they played about an hour and a half set and they where on fire. I love when shows are not really crowded because you feel like your getting your on private showing and the people who where there, except for the four really spun kids you know who you are, knew who nebula was and came to see them and Heyoka.

Immediately following the nebula show Heyoka Came right on stage, wearing his tuxedo T and ready to drop it. It was probably the most light hearted dub show I’ve ever seen it just cracked me up. He would sporadicly throw in what could best be described as circus music. I’m not saying it didn’t drop, it was sick nasty. So around two o’clock there was just the ten or so of us dub heads left and we where just all bustin out i don’t know if Heyoka normally plays three hour sets but it was awesome. I like to believe that we just gave him the energy to keep going. All and all it was a great night and anyone who gets the chance to catch this act do it, don’t even think about it just get your ticket and go.

Thanks BJ
hope to see everyone out tonight
Jon

About Jonathan Garza

I live in Austin. I take pictures, dance, meet new people, and have as much fun as possible. Check out my photo website www.atxphotographer.com the main photo blog http://austinphotographer.wordpress.com/ and if you like music and art collectiveperspectives.wordpress.com also my Economics useful info page is http://thepennyplaya.blogspot.com/ Thanks for taking a look also add me as a friend on facebook got to the parties I go to and promote www.facebook.com/jonathan.d.garza
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment